Juvenile Courts: Understanding the Three Groups of Juveniles

What are the three groups of juveniles handled by juvenile courts?

A. Delinquents

B. Dependents

C. Status Offenders


Juvenile courts handle three groups of juveniles: delinquents, dependents, and status offenders.

Juvenile courts serve a crucial role in the justice system by providing specialized care for young individuals based on their unique circumstances. Understanding the three groups of juveniles handled by juvenile courts is essential to grasp how these institutions work.

Three Groups of Juveniles Handled by Juvenile Courts:

  1. Delinquents: Juveniles who have committed offenses that would be considered crimes if committed by adults, such as theft, assault, or drug possession.
  2. Dependents: Juveniles who have experienced abuse, neglect, or abandonment by their parents or guardians, requiring protection and care from the court system.
  3. Status Offenders: Juveniles who have engaged in behaviors that are not crimes for adults but are considered violations due to their age, such as truancy or running away from home.

By categorizing juveniles into these groups, juvenile courts can tailor their interventions to address the specific needs and circumstances of each individual. This approach aims to provide rehabilitation, support, and guidance to young offenders while ensuring the safety and well-being of dependent and status offender youths.

← Rules of the road understanding maritime law definitions Understanding vessel propulsion a comprehensive explanation →